Reclaim the ‘Shakti’ within

‘Ardhanarishwara’, the deity symbolizes masculine and feminine in each human being irrespective of gender, embracing dualities of life.

SHIVA (or Purusha) symbolises consciousness, the masculine principle.

SHAKTI (or Prakriti) symbolises the feminine principle, the activating power and energy.

In simpler words, Shiva brings order and harmony to all of creation, a task that requires enormous amount of energy, with precision and grace. Durga provides Shiva with the energy as Shakti and the grace needed to use the vast, incalculable power for the benefit of creation. Their coming together provides purpose and sustenance to the universe.

 Shiva and Shakti exist within each of us as the masculine and feminine principles complementing and balancing each other. It is not about the gender. It is the divine energy that we all possess irrespective of our gender. The feminine nourishes the soul, the masculine provides meaning. The feminine nurtures the masculine while the masculine creates safety for feminine to thrive. It is about holding both to become complete.

The patriarchal society has always emphasized on the masculine energy, underestimating the feminine which brings connectedness, belongingness, stillness, peace and creativity. The achievement and outcome oriented world (masculine) craves for peace and talks about stillness. Navaratri is a symbolic celebration of feminine in various forms.

 Accessing and acknowledging the feminine within will leads to a more balanced, nourished and fulfilled world. In growing turmoil in all aspects of life, this has become important now more than ever.

 The nine forms of Shakti worshipped over a period of 9 days symbolizes the feminine forms each of us carry:

 SHAILAPUTRI symbolizes the mountain like will power and determination which provides grounding.

 BRAHMACHARINI symbolizes grace, humility and detachment

 CHANDRAGHANTA symbolizes courage and bravery

 KUSHMANDA symbolizes creativity, resourcefulness, playful and ever learning

 SKANDAMATA symbolizes the mother form full of emotional strength, empathy, love and compassion

 KATYAYINI symbolizes the silent force with warrior like resilience

 KALARATRI symbolizes the risk taker, the adventurer

 MAHAGAURI symbolizes calm, composed, poised with ray of hope

 SIDDHIDATRI symbolizes the healing power, well being and fullness of existence

 The tenth day, VIJAYA DASHMI is marked as the day when the goodness triumphs over the evil. The evil within us can be won over not by fighting it but by forgiving it. The evil within us is a result of the unnoticed wound stored over the years. When they are acknowledged, noticed and listened to is when they heal and turn into goodness.

Today, I choose to forgive myself for all my evils and liberate them of the chains. When I forgive myself, I forgive others too and set the evils free of the misery. When I reclaim my Shakti within, my Wounds heal and I can bring forth healing to others.


Picture of Ellora Rath

Ellora Rath

Ellora looks at Art as an interdisciplinary subject and is passionate about its application in bringing the creative aspect to the mainstream. She designs and facilitates creative exploration through the aesthetic lens. Motivated by lifelong learning, she identifies herself as an artist at heart and finds her expression as a poet and storyteller.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts


Play of Emotions

Being playfully emotional – Riding on the swings, slides and see-saws of emotional park Emotions are like weatherSometimes dry sometimes wetSome days they blossomSome days ...
Read More →

Have You been able to rest?

Life is a race unless we choose to rest. Life seems to be high speed until we choose to pause. A few days back I ...
Read More →
Power of Imagination

The Power of Imagination

‘Imagination’ is a bridge built from the place inside to space outside Imagination is a unique human ability that helps us explore ideas that is ...
Read More →
Scroll to Top